top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Loechelt

Breaking the habit of your unhealthy diet and lifestyle.

Updated: Jul 14, 2021

Let's face it. You used to have a rockin' bod. You used to be 10... okay... 15 pounds lighter. You don't have as much energy as you used to. You look at yourself in the mirror and you aren't too pleased with the person looking back. I think we've all been there. Heck, I'm there right now.





Life circumstances can take quite the toll on your body. Depression, lack of motivation, drained energy, and stress can do wonders on the body. I've always been a firm believer in listening to your body. When I started packing on the pounds, I was self aware enough to understand why. I switched from a fast paced work environment to something a bit slower and "less on my feet" type of job. That, on top of poor dieting choices, lack of exercise at home, and lots of after work naps became my downfall. Therefore, I lost a lot of confidence in my new body.


It's easy to spiral downwards. Many people find their physical and mental health declining and spiral away with it. At this point, you either throw in the towel or step up your game. Instead of breaking my unhealthy habits as soon as I realized the effects they were having on my body, I surrendered to it. I refused to make changes in by health and let depression and lack of motivation take its toll. Now, a year later, I have many regrets.


About a month ago, I decided to take accountability for allowing myself to get so bad. I decided it was time to cut out cigarettes, soda, unnecessary naps, and fast food. I took responsibility for my mental health and made the conscious choice to hit the restart button and gain back control of my life. I said to myself, "It's never going to get better unless I make a change." Ten pounds lighter, I can attest to that.


I forced myself to start going to the gym again. That was something I've put off for far too long. I knew that if I wanted to see results, I'd better change my diet as well. Although I have a long standing addiction to sugary drinks such as soda, sweet tea, and frappuccinos, I decided to cut those out completely. As for food? No more junk. Do I enjoy a slice of pizza in moderation? Sure. Although I must admit, after considering the amount of time I spend at the gym and all the sugar I've cut out of my diet, eating junk food, even in small quantities, is mentally harder to indulge in.





If you truly want something bad enough, you'll put in the work to get it. Of course there'd be times I'd cry or become angry at myself for allowing these unhealthy behaviors consume me, but I wasn't truly motivated to change until a years worth of depression finally made me snap out of it. I waited for change, even though I did nothing to get there.


I promise you this, if you make small changes in your diet such as cutting out your morning Starbucks run, decrease your soda intake, buy healthier groceries, prep your meals to avoid the convenience of fast food, drink more water, and get your daily exercise in, you'll shed those unwanted pounds in no time. I can't stress this enough, the food and beverages you consume daily are your biggest health suppressors.





Food is medicine. Food is fuel. Food is energy.

Treat your body better if you want look and feel better.

Your physical and mental health can be completely altered by the way you nourish it.

Your body is the result of the way you treat it.

Remember that.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page